Kliknij, aby przejść do Księgarni

ISSN (printed): 1732-0917

ISSN (online): 2449-8696

Lidia Sudyka (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University, Krakow)

Anna Nitecka (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University, Krakow)

Editorial Board
Marzenna Czerniak-Drożdżowicz (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University, Krakow)
Ewa Dębicka-Borek (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University, Krakow)

Scientific Council
Imre Banhga (University of Oxford)
Johannes Bronkhorst (University of Lausanne)
Klaus Karttunen (University of Helsinki)
Marion Rastelli (Austrian Academy of Sciences in Vienna)
Marzenna Czerniak-Drożdżowicz (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University)
Cezary Galewicz (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University)
Lidia Sudyka (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University)


Department of Languages and Cultures of India and South Asia
Institute of Oriental Studies
Jagiellonian University
al. Mickiewicza 3
31-120 Kraków



Cracow Indological Studies (CIS) founded in 1995 by Marzenna Czerniak-Drożdżowicz, Iwona Milewska, Lidia Sudyka and Cezary Galewicz is a periodical currently edited at the Department of Languages and Cultures of India and South Asia (Institute of Oriental Studies, Jagiellonian University, Cracow).The CIS volumes are published twice a year in English, covering various areas and contexts of South Asian studies ranging from purely literary issues to those present in texts in different Indian languages contributing to history, philosophy, aesthetics, art and religion of the Indian Subcontinent, with the main focus on India.
Subject editors change from volume to volume. Published since its beginning by Księgarnia Akademicka Ltd., the CIS is now one of the leading scientific journals in Indian studies, publishing valuable contributions from scholars affiliated to various academic institutions all over the world.


Abstracting and Indexing Services

  • Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)
  • The Central European Journal of Social Sciences and Humanities (CEJSH)
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Ultimate
  • Index Copernicus Journals Master List - value 95.74
  • List B Polish Ministry of Science and Higher Education - 12 points
  • Pol-index


Publication Ethics and Malpractice Statement

 The journal implements the ethical principles recommended by the Committee of Publication Ethics (COPE).


Peer Review Process

The Editor-in-chief is responsible for appointing the Subject Editor for the next volume. The Subject Editor invites the Authors to contribute to the topic accepted by the Editorial Board and the Scientific Council. The Subject Editor recommends the articles to the Editor-in-chief and the Editorial Board. Each article, after the initial evaluation, is sent by the Subject Editor to two anonymous reviewers selected by them (at least one of the reviewers has foreign affiliation), who within 4 weeks make a final assessment and suggest possible corrections using the evaluation sheet adopted by the Editorial Committee. It is applied as a procedure of double-blind peer review.
The list of reviewers cooperating with the editorial staff is published in each issue of the journal and on its website. The review form is available to the public on the journal's website.

Review form  

Guideline for Authors

Reviewers of CIS 2011-2018

Andrea Acri, (EPHE, PSL, Paris)
David Alvarez (DePauw University)
Piotr Balcerowicz (University of Warsaw)
Imre Bangha (University of Oxford)
Einat Bar-On Cohen
Zbigniew Białas (University of Silesia)
Cristina Bignami (University of Tübingen)
Giuliano Boccali (University of Milan)
Johannes Bronkhorst (University of Lausanne)
Yigal Bronner (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Heidrun Brückner (University of Würzburg)
Thomas de Bruijn
Maria Krzysztof Byrski (University of Warsaw)
Pallabi Chakravorty (Swarthmore College)
Rajendran Chettiarthodi (Calicut University)
Sabrina Ciolfi (University of Milan)
Gérard Colas (CNRS Paris)
Alessandra Consolaro (University of Turin)
Whitney Cox (University of Chicago)
Larry McCrea (University of Chicago)
Theo Damsteegt (University of Leiden)
Florinda De Simini (University of Naples "L'Orientale")
Alexander Dubyanskiy (Moscow State University)
Marianna Ferrara (La Sapienza University, Rome)
Gavin Flood (University of Oxford)
Domenico Francavilla (University of Turin)
Elisa Ganser (University of Zurich)
Jörg Gengnagel (Heidelberg University)
Dominic Goodall (ÉFEO, Paris)
Barbara Grabowska (University of Warsaw)
Thomas Hunter (University of British Columbia, Vancouver)
Ute Hüsken (University of Oslo)
Virgine Johan (University Paris-3)
Joanna Jurewicz (University of Warsaw)
Klaus Karttunen (University of Helsinki)
István Keul (University of Bergen)
Thomas Kintaert (University of Vienna)
Anna Krasnowolska (Jagiellonian University)
Marta Kudelska (Jagiellonian University)
Tiziana Leucci (CNRS, Paris)
Siegfried Lienhard (University of Stockholm)
Mirella Lingorska (University of Tübingen)
Ciro Lo Muzio (La Sapienza University, Rome)
Carola Erika Lorea (International Institute for Asian Studies, Leiden)
Barbara Lotz (University of Würzburg)
Marek Mejor (University of Warsaw)
Annie Montaut (The National Institute for Oriental Languages and Civilizations, Paris)
Elena Mucciarelli (Eberhard Karls Universität, Tübingen)
Monika Nowakowska (University of Warsaw)
Heike Oberlin (Eberhard Karls Universität, Tübingen)
Andrew Ollett (Harvard University, Boston Massachusetts)
Tatiana Oranskaia (University of Hamburg)
Sharmishtha Panja (University of Delhi)
Deven M. Patel (University of Pennsylvania)
Gianni Pellegrini (University of Turin)
Cinzia Pieruccini (University of Milan)
Karin Polit (University of Heidelberg)
Tiziana Pontillo (University of Cagliari)
Shiva Prakash (Jawaharlal Nehru University)
Govindasvamy Rajagopal (University of Delhi)
Lucinda Ramberg (Cornell University, Ithaca NY)
Marion Rastelli (Austrian Academy of Sciences in Vienna)
Galina Rousseva-Sokolova (Sofia University St Kliment Ohridski)
Małgorzata Sacha (Jagiellonian University, Krakow)
Paweł Sajdek (Pedagogical University of Kraków)
Olga Serbaeva Saraogi (University of Zurich)
Francesco Sferra (Hamburg University)
Federico Squarcini (Ca’Foscari University of Venice)
David Shulman (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Guzel Strelkova (Moscow State University)
Neelakshi Suryanarayan (University of Delhi)
Danuta Stasik (University of Warsaw)
Bożena Śliwczyńska (University of Warsaw)
Antonia Navarro Tejero (University of Córdoba)
Herman Tieken (University of Leiden)
Raffaele Torella (La Sapienza University, Rome)
Harish Trivedi (University of Delhi)
Anna Trynkowska (University of Warsaw)
Aleksandra Turek (University of Warsaw)
Jaroslav Vacek (Charles University, Prague)
Elżbieta Walterowa (University of Warsaw)
Corinna Wessels-Mevissen (Asian Art Museum, Berlin)
Kesavan Veluthat (University of Delhi)
Christophe Vielle (University of Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve)
Marianne Pasty-Abdul Wahid (independent scholar)
Eva Wilden (Hamburg University)
Gyula Wojtilla (University of Szeged)
Jacek Woźniak (University of Warsaw)
Dagmar Wujastyk (University of Vienna)
Grzegorz Ziółkowski (Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan)
Claus Peter Zoller (University of Oslo)